Backlog

  1. Each Agile Project automatically has an empty Backlog created that can be found on the Street Board. The Backlog is where all the work and tasks to be completed by the project is identified via User Stories.

Creating User Stories

  1. Navigate to the Project’s Street Board if you are not already on it.
  2. To add a User Story, click the ‘+’ sign on the Backlog ‘card’.
  3. To add several User Stories at once from Excel, click the ‘Import’ button. For additional information, please see How to Import Data into PlanStreet.

Enter the applicable User Story information including a meaningful name for the work to be done. It is recommended that you avoid using the same User Story name more than once per project as that may become very confusing. If using the same name repeatedly for the work to be done makes the best sense for your organization, we recommend adding some type of additional identifier to the name so that you can tell the multiple User Stories apart.

 

  1. Each User Story / work task can be assigned to multiple resources to be worked on. Only the resources that the User Story has been assigned to can see it in their ‘My Street’ view and are the only ones who can record time against the item. If the User Story has not been assigned to anyone, it cannot be worked on. For additional information, please see How to Assign Resources to a User Story.
  2. Files applicable to the User Story can be attached to it. Such files may include drawings, checklists, assembly instructions, requirements, change specifications, or any other type of information that is relevant to the work being identified by the User Story. There are no restrictions on the file types that can be attached within the PlanStreet Solution since when accessed, they will always be opened with their originating software tool. Files attached to User Stories are also visible via ‘Documents’ on the left-hand navigation panel.
  3. Related or dependent User Stories can be linked with each other so that people working them can easily find them and by reading the content of the linked User Stories, understand the User Stories in a larger context. The Backlog must already have at least one User Story before another User Story can be linked with it. Please note that User Stories cannot be linked between projects.
  4. You can add checklist / to-do items to a User Story. The purpose of the checklist is to provide a list of detail level items that need to be completed in order to complete the work identified in the User Story. The checklist completion is not tracked and does not affect the ability to mark the User Story as completed.
  5. You can provide an estimate of effort needed to complete the User Story by entering a numerical value into Story Points field. The entered value can be any value your organization finds helpful in estimating your work. It can be a number of hours, or number of days, or a number representing complexity. As long as the same method of estimation is used in all the User Stories in the Project, the information can be valuable in analyzing estimates against actuals.

To save the User Story, click ‘Save’ button at the bottom of the screen and then ‘OK’ on the confirmation screen. After successfully adding the User Story, you are taken to the project’s Street Board.

 

Was this article helpful to you?

Comments are closed.