Once the user is logged into PlanStreet, the first page they will land on is the Projects Page. This is where users can view their Project Summary. The Project Summary consists of all the projects that have been created, as well as some information about each. Initially it is shown as a table, but users can change this view by clicking the button on the top right of the table; selecting the right one will change the view to a list instead. You can see both views below:

 

 

 

Above the Project Summary is the Project Toolbar, which allows users to make changes to this page. The Add button will direct users to the Project Detail page, where they can begin creating a new project. From here they can select the type of project they want to create, and add a few details before saving, and adding it to the Project Summary.

 

 

The Edit button allows users to make changes to their projects. When using this edit button, you must first select the project you want to make changes to so that the row is highlighted blue, and then click on the Edit button. Selecting a traditional project will bring the user to its Tasks tab, the selecting an agile project will bring the user to its Street Board.

The Delete button allows users to delete projects from the Project Summary. Just like when using the Edit button, you must first select the project you want to erase so that the row turns blue. After selecting a project and clicking the delete button, a pop-up window will appear asking if the user is sure they want to delete this project. Just click yes and the project is gone!

Selecting the Settings button will cause the Display Settings window to pop up. This is where users can select (or deselect) the information that they want to appear on the Project Summary table. By default, the table includes columns for the project name, actions, start dates, end dates, project type, phases/sprints, tasks/stories, resources, and project health. If changes are made in this window, be sure to click the blue save button at the bottom when you’re done.

 

 

The Project Template button directs users to the Project Template page. A project template is an already established project structure that helps users get started with new projects. The Project Template page is where users can store and edit their templates.

 

 

There are several different ways users can go about accessing their projects. As stated in the beginning, the Project page will be the first screen displayed after signing into PlanStreet.

One way to access your project is by selecting the Project Name from the Project Summary. Selecting a traditional project will take you to its Tasks tab and selecting an agile project will take you to its Street Board.

 

 

Another way to access a project is from the Street Portfolio page. Beneath the Portfolio Timeline is the My Portfolio tab, where users can select the project they want to view from the Task Name column.

 

 

Street Portfolio contains the My Portfolio tab, and the Resource Allocation tab. There is a drill down feature that can be seen in both. The point of this feature is to make it easier for users to see all components of a project by “drilling down” (which is better displayed in the GIF below). Under the My Portfolio tab, you will notice that there is a tiny + sign located next to the name of each project. Clicking the + sign will open all the tasks and phases within the project. From here, users can see all the components of the project. There may also be + signs next to individual tasks and phases within a project, which the user can select to further “drill down”; opening tasks and phases for the selected task/phase.

 

 

Another way to use the drill down feature under the My Portfolio tab is by using the Project drop down button, which can be found on the My Portfolio toolbar. By default, this drop-down menu is already set to Project. Which means that the only thing being displayed in My Portfolio is projects. Users have the option to keep it set to projects, change it to Phase, or change it to Task. Selecting Phase will open all the projects to display the tasks and phases within them. Selecting Task will open everything, including the project’s tasks and phases, as well as any other tasks or phases under the project’s phases.

Before talking about the Resource Allocation tab, I want to go over the rest of the buttons on the My Portfolio Toolbar.

As mentioned before, the Project button lets users decide how they want the project displayed in My Portfolio. They can choose between project, phase, or task. The Settings button will open a Display Settings pop-up window, which is similar to the one that opens up on the Projects page. This is where users can edit the My Portfolio table, and pick what columns they want shown.

 

 

The Expand button opens all the contents of My Portfolio; Just like selecting “Task” from the Project drop-down menu, it will display all the projects, as well as all the tasks and phases within them. The Collapse button closes all the contents of My Portfolio, showing only the projects. Clicking the double-ended arrow button will open My Portfolio in full screen mode. Users can exit by clicking the button again, or by hitting the escape button on your keyboard. There is also a search bar on the top right corner of My Portfolio that allows user to search for the name of any project, task, or phase.

 

Now, onto the Resource Allocation tab. Resource allocation is the assignment of resources to various tasks. So essentially, this tab shows a breakdown of how work is split up amongst your team. Users can view resource allocation for the week, for the month, and even for the year.

 

 

The first column just lists the names of all your resources. The Complete column shows a percentage of work that has already been completed, out of all the work that was actually assigned to them. The Allocation column shows how many hours have been assigned to that member, while the Workload column shows how many of those hours they actually completed. Users may work more or less hours on a project than projected in the Allocation column, so the Workload column is there to show how on/off track they are. The Capacity column shows the user’s availability in hours. For example, if an employee works 8 hours shifts Monday through Friday, they have a capacity of 40 hours for the week, about 160 hours for the month, and about 1,920 for the year.

The right side of the table is looked at a bit differently; all the information is based on the Allocation column. Using the above image as an example, Aon Rana has 192 hours assigned to him for the month. The right side of this page show his hours are broken down throughout the month. He’s projected to work 25.6 hours through May 29th and June 4th, 64 hours through June 5th and June 11th, and another 64 hours through June 12th and June 18th (which gives the total of 192 hours).

Just like under the My Portfolio tab, you can see the drill down feature under the Resource Allocation tab. Every resource has an arrow next to their name, and clicking that arrow opens another menu below the resource, that shows how the information in each column is broken down. It will show a list of each task that was assigned to this resource, as well as the percentage of each task that was completed, the amount in hours that were allocated for each task, and etc. This is better shown in the GIF below.